Sebastien Loeb wins Goodwood hill climb

Sebastien Loeb won yet another trophy with a victory at the Goodwood Festival of Speed shoot-out with an impressive run during Sunday afternoon’s against-the-clock timed run.

The nine-time World Rally Champion, who now races for Citroen in the World Touring Car Championship, had qualified second fastest in the fearsome Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak car, and shaved almost a second from his Saturday time to take the top spot when it counted most in a time of 44.60 seconds.

It is the second year in a row in which the Pikes Peak special has set the fastest time at Goodwood; Gregory Guilvert tying for the top spot in 2013 with Nick Heidfeld’s Lola B12/60-Toyota in 45.86s. Loeb’s time was the sixth-fastest time ever set on Goodwood’s iconic 1.16-mile Hillclimb.

Loeb’s nearest challenger was former GT1 World Champion and ex-grand prix driver Michael Bartels, whose Maserati MC12 ‘Goodwood Cent 100’ missed out on the spoils by 1.22s.

Two more GT monsters, a McLaren F1 GTR ‘Long-tail’ driven by Indy 500 winner and former IndyCar champion Kenny Brack, and a Nissan GTR-NISMO GT3 piloted by Jann Mardenborough – Saturday’s Michelin Supercar Run winner – were next up while the best Formula 1 car was Didier Sirgue’s ex-Andrea de Cesaris Jordan 191-Ford.